John Schneider received one vote for American League Manager of the Year

Photo credit:© John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports
Cam Lewis
7 months ago
The Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced the winners for Manager of the Year and John Schneider of the Toronto Blue Jays finished sixth on the American League side of voting.
Brandon Hyde won AL Manager of the Year with 27 first-place votes out of 30 after leading the Baltimore Orioles to a 101-61 season, a staggering jump from the 52-110 record they posted two years ago. The other five skippers who got votes were the managers of the other five AL teams who made the playoffs, with Bruce Bochy of the Texas Rangers accounting for the other three first-place votes.
Schneider took over as the manager of the Blue Jays in July of 2022 after Charlie Montoyo was fired. Toronto had a 46-42 record at that time and went 46-28 the rest of the way with Schneider at the helm. The Blue Jays finished as the top Wild Card team in the AL that season but wound up being swept by the Seattle Mariners in two games.
The 2023 season was Schneider’s first full campaign as a manager in the Major Leagues. The Blue Jays boasted among the strongest pitching in baseball but their offence struggled considerably and the team posted an 89-73 record, three games behind the 92-70 record they had the previous year. Toronto finished as the third Wild Card team and got swept aside by the Minnesota Twins.
Only once has a Blue Jay won AL Manager of the Year, as Bobby Cox did so after leading the team to their first-ever division banner in 1985. Montoyo finished third in voting in 2020 and fourth in 2021, John Gibbons finished fourth in 2015, and Cito Gaston received votes eight different times in his career, with a second-place finish in 1989 being the closest he came to winning.


Check out these posts...