Robbie Ray wins Cy Young with 29 out of 30 first-place votes

Cam Lewis
2 years ago
Robbie Ray has won the American League Cy Young Award. He’s the fourth Blue Jay to do so, joining Pat Hentgen, Roger Clemens, and Roy Halladay.
This comes as little surprise, as Ray led the American League with a 2.84 ERA, 193 1/3 innings pitched, and 248 strikeouts.
It also wasn’t at all a close race, as Ray got 29 out of 30 first-place votes. Gerrit Cole of the New York Yankees came in second, receiving the one first-place vote that Ray didn’t get. Also, Jose Berrios got five votes.
Here’s how it broke down…
This is an incredible turnaround for Ray, who was traded from the Arizona Diamondbacks to the Blue Jays mid-way through the 2020 season in exchange for Travis Bergen. At that time, Ray had walked 31 batters in 31 innings and had an ERA of 7.84.
Get paid, Robbie.

Check out these posts...